In the Garden of Eros- another book republished

I am very pleased to say that I have republished an expanded and enhanced version of my book on early twentieth century illustrated books and fine art.

The book is a survey of the interactions and interconnections between book illustration and fine art during the first half of the last century. It focusses upon the art of Franz von Bayros, the many illustrators of the numerous editions of works by Pierre Louys and key figures in early twentieth century art, such as Die Brucke, Paula Modersohn-Becker, Balthus, Egon Schiele, Hans Bellmer, Dorothea Tanning, Marc Gertler and many others. In its second part, the text examines the persistent ‘orientalist’ trend in twentieth century painting and literature, identifying how one influenced the other and how many illustrators were also orientalist painters.

This book, in particular, links with my extensive research and writing on the author Pierre Louys. My multiple posts on his work and on the many illustrated editions of his books can be read on my arts and culture blog; in addition, I have written numerous essays on aspects of his prose and poetry, which can be found on my Academia page.

Leave a comment